[loginf] [ISSAC-ANNOUNCE] 2008 Jenks Prize: Call for Nominations

Mark Giesbrecht mwg at CS.UWATERLOO.CA
Sat Apr 5 03:27:54 CEST 2008

Dear Colleagues,

The deadline for nominations for the 2008 Richard D. Jenks Prize
is approaching quickly.  Please consider making a nomination for this
prestigious award.


ACM/SIGSAM Richard D. Jenks Memorial Prize
for Excellence in Computer Algebra Software Engineering

The third Richard D. Jenks Memorial Prize for excellence in software
engineering for computer algebra will be awarded at International
Symposium on Symbolic and Algebraic Computation (ISSAC 2008) at RISC
Linz, Austria, in July, 2008. The prize will consist of a plaque and a
cash award of $1,000.

Nominations, including self nominations, for this prize are hereby
solicited. Each nomination should be accompanied by a carefully
completed nomination form. Candidates (or their nominators) should
arrange to have two to five confidential letters of recommendation
submitted by persons who are familiar with the nominee's software
engineering achievements in computer algebra. The letters are an
especially important part of the nomination packet. We welcome
re-nominations of previously nominated candidates into the current

Please see http://www.sigsam.org/awards/Jenks for more details.

Previous winners have been the SINGULAR team at the University of
Kaiserslautern (2004) and Prof. John J. Cannon of The University of
Sydney (2006).

Software engineering will be interpreted broadly, but it should be an
important component in the work of any nominee. The nominee can be an
individual or a team, when the latter is appropriate. Any questions
about the suitability of a given body of work for the prize should be
directed to a member of the prize committee as listed below.

All nominations must be received by May 1, 2008.

The prize winner will be selected by a committee consisting of the
following individuals:

- Barry Trager (co-chair), IBM Research (bmt at watson.ibm.com)
- Tony Hearn (co-chair), Rand Corporation (hearn at rand.org)
- David Musser, Rensselaer Polytechnic Inst (musser at cs.RPI.edu)
- Mike Dewar, Numerical Algorithms Group (miked at nag.co.uk)
- Mark Giesbrecht, ACM SIGSAM Chair, University of Waterloo (mwg at uwaterloo.ca 

All nominations and supporting papers should be sent by email to
jenksprize at sigsam.org by May 1, 2008.

More information about the loginf mailing list