[loginf] Call for papers! PDPAR: Workshop on the pragmatics of decision procedures

Byron Cook bycook at microsoft.com
Wed Mar 22 10:49:04 CET 2006

                        CALL FOR PAPERS 

                    FLOC'06/IJCAR'06 Workshop

                          PDPAR 2006:

                  4th International Workshop on

      Pragmatics of Decision Procedures in Automated Reasoning

                    Seattle, Washington, USA

                       August 21st, 2006


Decision procedures are key components within many formal verification
and automated reasoning tools. Their performance, capacity, and
scalability are vital to the tools that depend on them. Furthermore, new
extensions may allow the formal verification or automated reasoning
tools to use decision procedures more effectively. The goal of this
workshop is to bring together researchers interested in making new
decision procedures possible, and old decision procedures more powerful
and more useful.

Sample topics of interest include:

* New decision procedures

* New methods of implementing decision procedures

* New ways of using of the infrastructure common to decision procedures

* Applications and case studies 

Invited Speakers

* Koen Claessen, Chalmers Technical University

* Peter O'Hearn, Queen Mary, University of London

Important dates

Submission deadline                  : May 15, 2006

Notification of acceptance/rejection : June 9, 2006

Final version due                    : June 26, 2006

Workshop                             : August 21, 2006 


Given the informal style of the workshop only informal (non-archival)
proceedings will be distributed at the workshop, We are considering the
possibility of choosing a set of the submitted papers to be published in
a special volume of the Electronic Notes in Theoretical Computer Science


PDPAR will accept two types of papers:

* Original papers: should describe original research and contain
sufficient detail to assess the merits and relevance of the
contribution. Simultaneous submission of material is prohibited. Given
the informal style of the workshop, the submission of papers presenting
student's work and work in progress is encouraged.  

* Presentation-only papers: describe work previously published in
non-FLOC'06 forums, and will *not* be inserted in the proceedings. We
are allowing the submission of previously published work in order to
allow researchers to communicate good ideas that the PDPAR attendees are
potentially unaware of.  

Both kind of submissions will be reviewed by at least two referees,
possibly more.  Submissions should be sent by email to
pdpar06 at dit.unitn.it, and should include:

* The paper in PDF (preferred) or PostScript format as an attachment.
The paper should not exceed 10 pages, including the bibliography, and
should be written in LaTeX with the following settings: 11pt, one
column, a4paper and standard margins. The paper may include, in
addition, an appendix containing technical details, which reviewers may
read or not, at their discretion;

* A submission message, with names and affiliations of all authors, the
title of the paper, the contact author's postal and e-mail addresses
phone number, and a one- or two-paragraph abstract, and the type of

A template will be made available.

Further information about how to submit papers will be made available at
the workshop's web page.


The authors of accepted submissions are expected to give a presentation
at the workshop. They will be asked for the files of their
presentations, which will be made available on the workshop's web page
after the workshop. 

Program Chairs

Byron Cook, Microsoft Research

Roberto Sebastiani, Universita` di Trento

Program Committee

Alessandro Armando, Universita` di Genova 

Clark Barrett, New York University 

Alessandro Cimatti, ITC-Irst, Trento 

Niklas Een, Cadence Design Systems 

Daniel Kroening, ETH-Zurich 

Shuvendu Lahiri, Microsoft Research 

Robert Nieuwenhuis, Technical University of Catalonia 

Silvio Ranise, LORIA, Nancy 

Leonardo de Moura, Stanford Research Institute (SRI)

Eli Singerman, Intel Corporation 

Ofer Strichman, Technion 

Aaron Stump, Washington University 

Cesare Tinelli, University of Iowa 

Ashish Tiwari, Stanford Research Institute (SRI)


More information about the loginf mailing list