[loginf] SEFM 2005 Second CfP

Wolfgang Ahrendt ahrendt at cs.chalmers.se
Thu Feb 24 20:26:00 CET 2005

Second Call for Papers

SEFM 2005
Third IEEE International Conference on
Koblenz, Germany
7-9 September 2005

The Third IEEE International Conference on Software Engineering and
Formal Methods (SEFM 2005) will be held in Koblenz, Germany,
7-9 September 2005.  Affiliated workshops and tutorials will be
organized on 5th and 6th September 2005, and calls for workshops and
tutorials will be circulated separately by the Workshop/Tutorial


  The aim of the conference is to bring together practitioners and
  researchers from academia, industry and government to advance the
  state of the art in formal methods, to scale up their application in
  software industry and to encourage their integration with practical
  engineering methods.


  The 2000-year-old town of Koblenz is situated in the picturesque
  landscape of the Rhine and Moselle and surrounded by four low
  mountain ranges. In 2002 the UNESCO ranked the upper Middle Rhine
  valley one of the most beautiful and oldest man-made landscapes,
  among the world cultural heritages.  The chain of castles and
  palaces along the steep slopes, where the famous Rhine wines are
  grown, stretches from Koblenz to the legendary Loreley and continues
  to the cities of Ruedesheim and Bingen.


  SEFM 2005 solicits research papers related to, but not limited to,
  the following principal topics:

   *    requirement analysis and specification
   *    software architectures and their description languages
   *    software specification, validation and verification
   *    software design and refinement
   *    models of programs and systems
   *    object and multi-agent systems
   *    coordination and feature interaction
   *    integration of formal and informal methods
   *    integration of different formal methods
   *    component-based development
   *    service-oriented development
   *    aspect-oriented development
   *    formal aspects of security and mobility
   *    model checking and theorem proving
   *    program analysis
   *    fault-tolerant, real-time and hybrid systems
   *    analysis of safety-critical systems
   *    formal aspects of software evolution and maintenance
   *    formal methods for testing, re-engineering and reuse
   *    light-weight formal methods
   *    prototyping and visualisation
   *    CASE tools and tool integration
   *    application to industrial cases
   *    formal methods for industrial standardisation
   *    socio-economic implications of the use of formal methods

  substantial experience reports/case studies are particularly welcome.


  Submissions must not have been published or be concurrently
  considered for publication elsewhere. All submissions will be judged
  on the basis of originality, contribution to the field, technical
  and presentation quality, and relevance to the conference.

  The proceedings of the conference will be published by the IEEE
  Computer Society Press. Papers must be written in English and not
  exceed 10 pages in IEEE format.  Instructions for authors are
  available at http://computer.org/cspress/instruct.htm. Latex
  formatting macros can be downloaded from the website at

  Further information and instructions about submissions can be found
  on the conference website. Authors are strongly encouraged to use
  this website to submit their papers in electronic form.

  The best papers will be selected to be published in revised and
  extended version in the International Journal on Software and
  Systems Modelling published by Springer http://www.sosym.org.


  Authors are encouraged to submit papers describing tools suitable
  for off-line presentation and/or on-line demonstration.  Tool papers
  will undergo a regular review process and will be published in the
  conference proceedings. Authors willing to give a demonstration are
  required to bring all needed equipment and software.


  The International Institute for Software Technology of the United
  Nations (UNU-IIST) will support a limited number of SEFM attendees
  from developing countries by providing a scholarship to cover their
  full registration fees at SEFM 2005 (the scholarship will not cover
  airfare/transportation and accommodation costs). Further information
  is available on the conference web page.


  Submission deadline for abstract:  18 March 2005
  Submission deadline for papers:     1 April 2005
  Notification of acceptance:        26 May   2005
  Camera-ready version due:          24 June  2005
  Tutorials and workshops:           5-6 Sept 2005
  SEFM 2005 in Koblenz, Germany:     7-9 Sept 2005

  - TBA -


General Chair

  Peter H. Schmitt, U. of Karlsruhe, Germany

Program Committee Chairs

  Bernhard K. Aichernig, UNU-IIST, Macao SAR China
  Bernhard Beckert, U. of Koblenz, Germany

Publicity Chair

  Wolfgang Ahrendt, Chalmers U., Gothenburg, Sweden

Tutorial and Workshop Chair

  Werner Stephan, DFKI Saarbrücken, Germany

Organisation Chair

  Bernhard Beckert, U. of Koblenz, Germany

Finance Chair

  Steffen Schlager, U. of Karlsruhe, Germany

Steering Committee

  Manfred Broy, Technische U. Muenchen, Germany
  Antonio Cerone, UNU-IIST, Macao SAR China
  Geoff Dromey, Griffith U., Brisbane, Australia
  Mike Hinchey, NASA GSFC, Greenbelt, MD, USA
  Mathai Joseph, TRDDC, Pune, India
  Zhiming Liu, UNU-IIST, Macao SAR China
  Andrea Maggiolo-Schettini, U. of Pisa, Italy

Program Committee

  Jean-Raymond Abrial, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  Ralph-Johan Back, Abo Akademi U., Turku, Finland
  Gabriel Baum, National U. of La Plata, Argentina
  Mohamed Bettaz, Philadelphia U., Jordan
  Tommaso Bolognesi, CNR/ISTI, Pisa, Italy
  Marcello M. Bonsangue, Leiden U., The Netherlands
  Jonathan Bowen, London South Bank U., UK
  Manfred Broy, Technische U. Muenchen, Germany
  Patrice Chalin, Concordia U., Montreal, Canada
  Jorge R. Cuellar, Siemens, CT IC, Germany
  Frank S. de Boer, CWI, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  Werner Damm, OFFIS / U. of Oldenburg, Germany
  David Deharbe, Federal U. of Rio Grande do Norte, Brazil
  Jin Song Dong, National U. of Singapore, Singapore
  Juergen Ebert, U. of Koblenz, Germany
  Bernhard Gramlich, Vienna U. of Technology, Austria
  Nicolas Halbwachs, Verimag/CNRS, Grenoble, France
  Klaus Havelund, NASA Ames Research Center, Moffett Field/CA, USA
  Reiner Haehnle, Chalmers U., Gothenburg, Sweden
  Teruo Higashino, Osaka U., Japan
  Mike Hinchey, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, USA
  Mathai Joseph, Tata Consultancy Services, India
  Padmanabhan Krishnan, Bond U., Gold Coast, Australia
  Gunter Lassmann, T-Systems, ITC-Security, Berlin, Germany
  K. Rustan M. Leino, Microsoft Research, Redmond, WA, USA
  Zhiming Liu, UNU-IIST, Macao SAR China
  Jian Lu, Nanjing U., China
  Tom Maibaum, McMaster U., Hamilton, Canada
  Jose Carlos Maldonado, U. of Sao Paulo, Brazil
  Tiziana Margaria, U. of Göttingen, Germany
  Jose Oliveira, U. do Minho, Braga, Portugal
  Jonathan S. Ostroff, York U., Toronto, Canada
  Paritosh  Pandya, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbay, India
  Andreas Podelski, MPI for Informatics, Saarbrücken, Germany
  Alexander Pretschner, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  Anders P. Ravn, Aalborg U., Denmark
  Harald Ruess, SRI International, Menlo Park, CA, USA
  Augusto Sampaio, Federal U. of Pernambuco, Recife, Brazil
  Werner Stephan, German Research Center for AI, Saarbrücken, Germany
  Shmuel Tyszberowicz, Tel Aviv U., Israel
  Mark Utting, U. of Waikato, New Zealand
  Martin Wirsing, Ludwig-Maximilians-U. Munich, Germany
  Jim Woodcock, U. of York, UK
  Wang Yi, Uppsala U., Sweden
  Gianluigi Zavattaro, U. of Bologna, Italy

More information about the loginf mailing list